BLOG

The Claire Mascall PR Prize

In March, I found out that I had been lucky enough to win a scholarship in the form of the Claire Mascall PR Prize. As a result of this, I have spent the past five weeks completing my placement in Leeds Beckett’s communications department, as well as being awarded a bursary towards the cost of this.

The prize giving was included in the celebration of the 25 years of PR anniversary event and it was a real honour to win the prize, for which three students from the Leeds Beckett PR/PR and Journalism courses were chosen.   I’ve really loved my placement at Leeds Beckett so far and I have no doubts that the skills I have learned there will stand me in good stead for my industrial placement year and beyond.

Set up in memory of Claire Mascall by her husband Graham Rimmer, the prize celebrates her legacy as a pioneering woman in the PR profession which to me, makes the prize all the more special.

Claire Mascall’s achievements are a huge source of inspiration to me as a young professional, and woman, entering the communications industry.

 

Leave a Reply

